The Joy Machine

  Buy from Amazon  

Apply any coupon before adding to cart:

[Return to store]

by James Gunn

Price: $20? [used]
Format: Paperback (i.e. NEW PRINT RUN)



Print Edition

This title is available in print in paperback.

(Payment, printing, and shipping via

More by James Gunn


Star Bridge

This Fortress World

The Joy Makers

The Immortals

The Magicians


The Dreamers

The Joy Machine

The Millennium Blues




Pilgrims to Transcendence

Station in Space

Future Imperfect

The Witching Hour

Breaking Point

The Burning

Some Dreams Are Nightmares


Tiger! Tiger!

The End of the Dreams

The Unpublished Gunn

Human Voices

Transcendental - The Trilogy

The Reading Protocols of Science Fiction: Discourses on Reading SF

Against the Stars

Included just for completeness as part of the James Gunn Library — this is not available directly from ReAnimus Press, but from the Amazon via Pocket Books (the official publisher of Star Trek titles).

(Do not try to add to cart or buy it here; this page is just so you can easily find the link to the Amazon page.)

This is Jim's book in the Star Trek universe. It appears that Pocket has an ebook edition, but no currently in-print paper edition; though there are used copies available.

About the Author

The James Gunn Library
The authorized site for all of the SFWA Grandmaster's books

James Gunn

James Gunn is the author of more than thirty books, including the Hugo Award-winning nonfiction work Isaac Asimov: The Foundations of Science Fiction and the novel The Immortals, on which the television series The Immortal was based. Other novels include The Listeners, The Joy Makers, and Kampus. He also has collaborated with other authors, most notably with Jack Williamson on Star Bridge. He was named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America in 2007.

Mr. Gunn is also the editor of a series of anthologies tracing the history of science fiction, The Road to Science Fiction, and is a past president of The Science Fiction Writers of America. He is professor emeritus of English and was the founding director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas. He is the winner of the Pilgrim Award for lifetime achievement in science fiction scholarship, and is a past president of the Science Fiction Research Association. He passed away in 2020 at the age of 97, still writing till the last.


  Buy from Amazon  

We hope you enjoy the book! If you like it, please tell others to visit